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Where and how do I access DML's collections and features?
DML offers two platforms: the DML Marketplace and the Hub. You can access the 200+ embeddable collections DML creates and curates in the DML Marketplace, where you can also set up ad campaigns, order original articles, and license collections for use in print and on other platforms. You can create your own collections in the Hub, which is a second platform.
Request an account. to access these two platforms. When your request is approved, you will receive invites to the two platforms.
What is a collection?
A collection is an assortment of articles grouped together and hosted on a publisher or brand website. Collections allow publishers to host content from across the web within their own website infrastructure without forcing audiences to leave the site. Collections come with an embed code that publishers can use on their websites. DML curates a large selection of collections in the DML Marketplace. Brands and advertisers can also group their content together using collections. Publishers and brands can create collections in the Hub. Contact support@distributedmedialab.com to request access to the Hub.
Is there a cost to use Distributed Media Lab collections?
Collections are always free to embed, whether you make them or we do! We may run our ads on these free embedded collections. To run your own ads on collections, reproduce articles in print publications or without using our embed code, or embed ad-free collections, you must have a paid plan. Contact support@distributedmedialab.com to discuss plan options.
Can I create my own collections?
Yes, you can use the Publisher Hub to create your own collection. Add articles to your collection by pasting in their URL, using an RSS feed, or entering your website details. Our platform scrapes your articles and makes them available to add to collections. Note: Only articles published using the Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP) standard can be included in a collection. If you are not currently AMPing your website, contact support@distributedmedialab.com for information on our AMPing services.
How do I embed a collection?
To embed a collection, find the collection you'd like to embed in the Marketplace or create one in the Hub, and click the “Embed this collection” button (Marketplace) or the Embed button (Hub). From there, you can choose the layout (default is 4x1) and the number of content items to display. Then, simply copy the HTML code. That code can be pasted onto a publisher’s website.
What is AMP’d content?
AMP stands for Accelerated Mobile Pages. AMP’d content restricts HTML/CSS and JavaScript, helping web pages load faster and perform optimally across devices and distribution platforms. DML uses AMP as the standard for its embeddable viewer. Any website that is AMP'd can appear in our viewer. If your website is not AMP'd but you would like your content to appear in our viewer, we can host your articles for you. Contact support@distributedmedialab.com for more details.
What is custom content?
Custom content is an article or series the DML team will create to communicate a brand’s story, promotion, topic, event, etc. Custom content helps brands build authority, connect with target audiences and generate interest.
This option is our best practice because it provides the most value to the brand and the readers. Please note that the article will need to be published before it can be incorporated into the collection. To do this:
You can add an AMP’d sponsored content article written and published by the brand
Commission DML to write and AMP articles for your brand or advertiser
Add a sponsored content article from your publisher’s website. We also recommend upselling your package and creating sponsored content for brands.
Are there any requirements to include custom content in a collection?
Custom content that appears in a collection must be AMP’d. If you have ordered the content from our Content Studio, it will be delivered directly into your requested collection. If your content is not AMP'd, we can host it for you.
What do I do if I have custom content that is not AMP’d?
Don’t worry if you cannot AMP the content. You can simply redirect your readers to your sponsored article (hosted on your site or on your advertiser’s) like you would with a native display ad, or we can host your content for you. Contact us for more information at support@distributedmedialab.com
Do Distributed Media Lab collections slow down page loading time?
No, hosting collections on your site won’t slow down the page load time.
Who gets credit for pageviews and ad impressions coming from DML collections on my website?
The content producer always gets the pageview credit and ad impressions for their content that’s hosted in our collections and content viewer.
How do I add a new user to my account?
New users can request access at this link. A DML team member will respond to the request within 1-3 business days.
Do ad creatives have to be static?
Our banner ad on the right rail supports: png, jpg and gifs. Our in-article ads support all of the above. We also support HTML5S and third-party tags.
Why is there a discrepancy between Google Ad Manager and Console impressions?
Google Ad Manager (Ad Campaign) impressions are tracked whenever the sponsor assets are loaded. The sponsor assets are loaded onto a collection from the Google Ad Manager ad server and ad served assets typically load at a slower rate than other assets on a web page, including a DML collection.
DML Console Collection Impressions are tracked whenever the collection is loaded on the page and comes into 25% viewability on the web page. A good way to think about the difference is the difference between Google Analytics tracking of a website or a webpage loading versus when a banner ad campaign is running on a specific webpage. One is tracking publisher web pages and publisher content while the banner ad campaign is tracking just the ad units on the page.
Do collections contain market exclusivity?
No. Collections are not exclusive to specific markets or specific publishers. If you are interested in developing a market exclusive or publisher exclusive collection, please reach out to DML Support (support@distributedmedialab.com).
How should we price a content series to sponsors?
Many of our customers use our collections to sell sponsorships to advertisers in related industries (for example, local financial institutions for our Finances FYI collection) or use our technology to house branded content series.
There are two main ways to price series to sponsors: a share-of-voice sponsorship or an impression-based sponsorship. If your website does not generate a large number of impressions, we would recommend that you price a series sponsorship as a share-of-voice sponsorship. A share-of-voice sponsorship is priced at a fixed rate for a specific time period. For example, the sponsorship could be priced at $2,000 per month or $6,000 per quarter (3 months) for 100% share-of-voice. Share-of-voice is the amount of share that a specific sponsor receives as the marque sponsor of the collection. So, if a sponsor has 100% share-of-voice, and the collection sponsor assets are shown 100 times, then that specific sponsor’s assets will be shown 100 times. If the sponsor has 50% share-of-voice for the same example, then the sponsor’s sponsorship assets will be shown 50 times out of the possible 100 times.
An impression-based sponsorship is used to price a sponsorship campaign based on a specific amount of impressions that the sponsor will receive at a specific rate CPM (cost per thousand impressions) during a specific amount of time. For example, you could price an amount of 100,000 impressions at a $15 CPM per month, which would come to $1,500.00 per month to the sponsor. Impression-based sponsorships are best used if your website has a large amount of traffic. As DML campaigns utilize premium placements on your website, utilize branded content, and are a unique offering, we recommend that you price your CPMs at a premium, typically between $10 and $15 CPM.
What kind of training and education do you provide to sales teams?
DML provides consistent training and education for sales teams. We recommend reviewing our Resource Center first to gain a basic knowledge of the DML platform, collections, content offerings, ad campaigns, and services. DML hosts training sessions monthly and you can reach out to DML Support (support@distributedmedialab.com) in order to schedule a quick one-time dedicated training session.
How do I find collections in the Marketplace?
Once your Marketplace access request is approved, you will receive an invite to create your account. When you are successfully logged in, you will see a search bar on the home page that reads "Search Products." Type in a keyword or the name or the collection you a looking for. You can also scroll through all our products by clicking "All Products" in the left hand navigation of the Marketplace.
What are products?
Products are collections that are available to embed on a publisher’s website. They are topically organized and available to search utilizing keywords and collection titles.
Where do I set up ad campaigns?
Ad campaigns are set up in the Campaign Manager section of the DML Marketplace, where you can submit the details for live and demo campaigns. You can also check the status of your campaigns and the assets that are being used for each sponsorship.