FAQ / General Questions
- What is Distributed Media Lab?
- What is a Collection?
- Is there a cost to use Distributed Media Lab Collections?
- Can I create my own Collections?
- How do I embed a Collection?
- What is the Marketplace?
- What are products?
- What is Custom Content?
- Are there any requirements to include Custom Content in a Collection?
- Do Distributed Media Lab Collections slow down page loading time?
- What is AMP’d content?
- Who gets credit for pageviews and ad impressions coming from DML collections on my website?
- How do I get in touch with a Distributed Media Lab representative?
- How can I tell if a piece of content is AMP’d?
- How do I embed a Collection from the Marketplace?
- How do I find a Collection in the Marketplace?
- How do I add a new user to my account?
- What Collection layouts are available?
- What do I do if I encounter an issue?
- What do I do if I have Custom Content that is not AMP’d?
- Do ad creatives have to be static?
- Why is there a discrepancy between Google Ad Manager and Console impressions?
- Do Collections contain market exclusivity?
- How and when do I get charged?
- How should we price the series to sponsors?
- What kind of training and education do you provide to sales teams?
- I’m not seeing the ads, what can I do to troubleshoot?
- What is the campaign manager?
- How do I find sports content in the DML Marketplace?
- What kind of sponsorships can I sell with Distributed Media Lab’s Collections?
- How does DML make money/earn revenue?
- How do you handle paywalls?
- Do I need to sign a partnership agreement in order to host a DML collection on my site?
- Do I have to make my content available to DML for distribution in order to host collections on my site?
- How can I host other outlets’ content on my site?
We are a content distribution platform for publishers and brands powering frictionless content experiences across the open web through the use of Collections. We enable publishers to distribute their content or curate content from other publishers to provide new and compelling benefits to readers. Our platform also opens new revenue opportunities for content marketing and consumer revenue.
A Collection is an assortment of articles grouped together and hosted on a publisher website. Collections allow publishers to host content from across the web within their own website infrastructure without forcing audiences to leave the site.
Collections come with an embed code that publishers can use on their websites. DML curates a large selection of Collections in the DML Marketplace. Publishers can also create their own collections in the Publisher Hub. Contact email@example.com to request access to the Hub.
Collections are always free to embed!
When you sell a Collection sponsorship, we charge a $2 CPM ad serving fee. This fee includes: content curation, campaign set up and management, performance reporting, ongoing training, and support. We only charge you when you sell a sponsorship against it.
Yes, you can use the Publisher Hub to create your own collection. Add articles to your Collection by pasting in their URL, using an RSS feed, or entering your website details. Our platform scrapes your articles and makes them available to add to Collections. Note: Only articles published using the Accelerated Mobile Pages (AMP) standard can be included in a Collection. If you are not currently AMPing your website, contact firstname.lastname@example.org for information on our AMPing services.
To embed a Collection, click the “Embed” button. From there, you can choose the layout (default is 4x1) and the number of content items to display. Then, simply copy the HTML code. That code can be pasted onto a publisher’s website.
Our Marketplace is your one-stop-shop to find collections, create and manage ad campaigns, and order Custom Content.
Products are collections that are available to embed on a publisher’s website. They are topically organized and available to search utilizing keywords and collection titles.
Custom content is an article or series that the DML team will create to communicate a brand’s story, promotion, topic, event, etc. Custom content helps brands build authority, connect with target audiences and generate interest.
This option is our best practice because it provides the most value to the brand and the readers. Please note that the article will need to be published before it can be incorporated into the Collection. To do this:
- You can either add an AMP’d Sponsored Content Article written and published by the Brand
- Add a Sponsored Content Article from your publisher’s website. We also recommend upselling your package and creating sponsored content for brands.
Custom Content that appears in a Collection must be AMP’d.
No, hosting Collections on your site won’t slow down the page load time.
The content producer always gets the pageview credit and ad impressions for their content that’s hosted in our collections and content viewer.
For general inquiries, including questions about the DML Marketplace of Ad Campaigns, email us at email@example.com
If you have questions or need help with a Custom Content request, contact Director of Editorial Caitlin Hendee at firstname.lastname@example.org.
If you have questions about sports content, contact Senior Content Manager Chris Cornell at email@example.com.
Many AMP’d articles are already included within the console and can be found via an article search. Install this Chrome extension to confirm whether a piece of content is AMP’d.
Embedding a Collection is easy! Click on the Collection you want to embed, scroll down until you see “Embed this Collection.” Click that and simply copy the HTML snippet and paste it into your website infrastructure or CMS.
To find a Collection, click “Search Products” and type in a Collection title or keyword.
How do I add a new user?
New users can request access at this link. A DML team member will respond to the request within 1-3 business days.
Yes! We do have several layout options available for you. Find them here.
If you cannot AMP the content, don’t worry. You can simply redirect your readers to your sponsored article (hosted on your site or on your advertiser’s) like you would with a native display ad.
Our banner ad on the right rail supports: png, jpg and gifs.
Our in-article ads support all of the above. We also support HTML5S and third-party tags.
Google Ad Manager (Ad Campaign) impressions are tracked whenever the sponsor assets are loaded. The sponsor assets are loaded onto a collection from the Google Ad Manager ad server and ad served assets typically load at a slower rate than other assets on a web page, including a DML collection.
DML Console Collection Impressions are tracked whenever the collection is loaded on the page and comes into 25% viewability on the web page. A good way to think about the difference is the difference between Google Analytics tracking of a website or a webpage loading versus when a banner ad campaign is running on a specific webpage. One is tracking publisher web pages and publisher content while the banner ad campaign is tracking just the ad units on the page.
No. Collections are not exclusive to specific markets or specific publishers. If you are interested in developing a market exclusive or publisher exclusive collection, please reach out to DML Support (firstname.lastname@example.org).
You will be charged on a monthly basis on the first of the month for that current month’s flat rate of $250 per campaign for up to 125,000 impressions. Once the 125,000 total impressions are hit for the month, the campaign will not continue to deliver unless you have agreed to serve additional impressions at a $2.00 CPM based on your campaign pricing to your sponsor and have delivered approval in writing to Distributed Media Lab for the additional impressions. You will be charged via the credit card that is on file within your DML Marketplace account.
There are two main ways to price series to sponsors: a share-of-voice sponsorship or an impression-based sponsorship. If your website does not generate a large number of impressions, we would recommend that you price a series sponsorship as a share-of-voice sponsorship. A share-of-voice sponsorship is priced at a fixed rate for a specific time period. For example, the sponsorship could be priced at $2,000 per month or $6,000 per quarter (3 months) for 100% share-of-voice. Share-of-voice is the amount of share that a specific sponsor receives as the marque sponsor of the collection. So, if a sponsor has 100% share-of-voice, and the collection sponsor assets are shown 100 times, then that specific sponsor’s assets will be shown 100 times. If the sponsor has 50% share-of-voice for the same example, then the sponsor’s sponsorship assets will be shown 50 times out of the possible 100 times.
An impression-based sponsorship is used to price a sponsorship campaign based on a specific amount of impressions that the sponsor will receive at a specific rate CPM (cost per thousand impressions) during a specific amount of time. For example, you could price an amount of 100,000 impressions at a $15 CPM per month, which would come to $1,500.00 per month to the sponsor. Impression-based sponsorships are best used if your website has a large amount of traffic. As DML campaigns utilize premium placements on your website, utilize branded content, and are a unique offering, we recommend that you price your CPMs at a premium, typically between $10 and $15 CPM.
DML provides consistent training and education for sales teams. We recommend reviewing our Resource Center first in order to gain a basic knowledge of the DML platform, collections, content offerings, ad campaigns, and services. DML hosts training sessions monthly and you can reach out to DML Support (email@example.com) in order to schedule a quick one-time dedicated training session.
If you’re not seeing the ads, first, please ensure that you do not have any ad blockers installed on your computer or browser. Ad blockers may effect whether you are able to see the collection sponsorship ads. Also, please note that DML sponsorship campaigns currently only run within the United States, so if you are outside of the United States, you may not be able to see the ads.
If you are not running any ad blockers and are currently based in the United States, you may not be able to see the ads for a variety of reasons. Please reach out to DML support (firstname.lastname@example.org) with your publisher name, publisher URL, and ad campaign name letting us know that you are not able to see the sponsorship running and we will get back to you within one business day with an update. Please note that troubleshooting the ad campaigns may take longer than one business day, but we will get in touch with you within 1 business day to confirm that we are looking into the issues as well as potentially with next steps.
The campaign manager is the section of the DML Marketplace where you can submit the details for live and demo campaigns. You can also check the status of your campaigns as well as the assets that are being used for each sponsorship.
The DML Marketplace is divided into sections and products. Sections are topic categories and products are the Collections themselves.
The Sports section in the Marketplace contains all the sports Collections that DML offers.
Sports, Golf, World Football (soccer), Tennis and Auto Racing in the More Sports section.
The search products bar on the storefront homepage will allow you to discover any sports Collection by typing the name of the league or team you want to add.
Within the product pages, you will find an overview of what the Collection contains, instructions on how to embed, layout options, recommendations on where to place the Collection on your site, and advice on how to monetize the Collection with local advertisers.
You can sell two types of sponsorship experiences in the last card of a collection:
You can either sell a “Sponsored Content Article” (and this is our best practice) or a “Native Display Advertising” integration.
Our sponsorships also include a viewer takeover with additional advertising assets.
DML makes money by charging to run ad campaign sponsorships that run in conjunction with DML collections.
No, no partnership is needed. Collections are always free to embed.
Do I have to make my content available to DML for distribution in order to host collections on my site?
No, you can benefit from adding DML collections to your site without contributing content to our curated collections.
We’re creating a curated content experience in the same way that Google, Apple, Flipboard and others do for their news products. The content providers still get all the credit for their pageviews and ad impressions that are accumulated during a user’s visit, and you get the value of a reader staying on your site for longer and not bouncing to find other sports content that they want elsewhere.